UEA Men's Rugby Club is the university’s most active club on and off the field. Our prestigious club now features three BUCS teams competing on Wednesday afternoons. The club also prides itself on its Trojans team – a side entered into the local Eastern Counties league playing on Saturdays.

This upcoming season will see our three teams compete at three different levels, allowing for rugby to be played at all skill levels. These being our 1XV in Men's Midlands 2B, our 2XV in Men's Midlands 3B and our 3XV in Men's Midlands 4A.

The club trains together twice a week on Monday and Friday evenings from 7-9 and attendance is expected to be considered for match day squads.

UEA Men’s Rugby Club offers a friendly and safe environment in which advanced players can further develop their skills playing at a high level, and less experienced players are able to learn the trade or strive for more competitive rugby! We are a club that caters for all abilities with top quality coaching in place to ensure everyone is progressing and becoming the best players they can.

UEA Men’s Rugby Club is also the most socially active club at the university. Not only are we the best group of chaps on campus, we’ll be sure to fill your calendar with a variety of socials every week from club meals to themed nights out. If one thing’s for sure about the rugby club, it’s that we have enough socials to keep anyone satisfied!

If you’re still not completely sold, we will be offering a number of ‘Give it a Go’ sessions in September for those considering joining.

If you've got any more questions at all, feel free to pop us a message on Instagram and we'll aim to get back to you ASAP!



Committee 23/24:

President: Luke Permbroke

Club Captain: Lewis Palmer

Treasurer: Alex Martin

1XV Captain: Thomas Coker

2XV Captain: James Ball

3XV Captains: Rory White and Archie Ryan

Trojans Captain: Oscar Robinson

Social Secretaries: Sam Garwood and Fergus Crallan

Publicity Secretaries: Jay Wharton and Jim Iliffe

Equality and Diversity Officer: Billy Ickering

S&C Coordinator: Alastair Baggiony-Taylor


Additional Cost of Sport Ranges

The additional cost of sport project, which was created by the Students’ Union, alongside uea+sport, is designed to give prospective members information on the range of costs they may face in joining their chosen sport.

This range should be taken as guidance. For compulsory costs, this price includes uea+sport membership which is £55, and you only need to pay once to join all of our clubs.

When considering additional costs, some clubs may have none and others may have further costs. This is often dependent on the level of competitiveness for the sport you get involved in, and so recreational or socially playing may be cheaper. You may also have equipment which can be used between multiple sports, for example shoes or gum shields.

For any questions, please ask the sport club for specific further information, or for further information on the project.

Many thanks,

Luke Johnson

Your Activities & Opportunities Officer 23/24