Unthank Productions


Please log in to join this organisation.

The Filmmaking Society aims to create innovative and thought provoking films. Our main priority as a society is to help hone your creative talent! You don’t have to know anything about the filmmaking process, you just need to have a keen eye for a good story!

The beauty of filmmaking is that there are so many roles to choose from and no role is too small. If you’re an organiser then producing is your route, if you like story then screenwriting or directing would be a perfect match, and if you prefer the technical side there are plenty of roles such as editor, cinematographer, sound mixer to set and costume designer: the list is endless! So if you’re not that confident with a camera but are still interested in films then this is the perfect place to be.

The committee will help you to make a few films throughout the year. In the past these have been short films, documentaries and webseries. These films will be the ‘main projects’, where the finances will go. We will help you to enter these projects into film festivals around the world and get your name on IMDB! You're sure to make some like minded friends within the society, and we encourage you to make your own shorts with them. If you also want to make your own projects, we will help you do this by connecting you with other people who might be interested in your project, finding you equipment, cast and crew. 

Phew! If all of that isn’t enough then how about an incredibly active social life? We’ll host regular socials. both drinking and non-drinking socials, such as pub crawls, quizzes, game nights, screenings and more!

So if you love films, filmmaking, writing, costume design, composing, drinking beer and/or tea then hit that ‘add to basket’ button (you know you want to).

Membership fees: If you are or will be a student at UEA, you must select the Standard Membership NOT the Associate Membership. If you are joining in the second semester you select the Second Semester Membership. 

Do follow us on our social media for updates! 
Facebook page:
Facebook group:



2023/24 Committee:

President Ollie Baker
Secretary Elliot Lecointe
Health and Safety Officer + Head of Production Ben Richards
Treasurer Gabby Hogg
Equality and Diversity Officer Cavin Balakrishnan