UEA Squash is open to all students, and caters for all abilities. We are a friendly club in which members can improve their squash ability and have fun. Coaching, court times, along with rackets and balls provided at every session, are all covered by the £25 membership fee. We have a wide range of opportunities for all members including:

  • Weekly training and coaching (with our amazing coach David)
  • Weekly social sessions (where you can meet new people or chat to old friends, all while playing the best sport)
  • Regular socials (both sober socials and nights out)
  • Our own Box League (for anyone who likes a bit of competition)
  • Tri-racket socials
  • A trip to watch the pros play in the Canary Wharf Squash Classic
  • Sports Tour
  • and many more…

Our Court times are:

Wednesdays - 12:20-17:00 - Social Session – For all members

Saturdays – 14:20-18:20 – Coaching Session – Run by a qualified coach, divided by ability:

  • 14:20-16:20: Beginners & Intermediates Coaching – For a range of abilities - from developing newcomer to emerging talent, we've got you covered!
  • 16:20-18:20: Advanced Coaching – For Squad and Team members, and anyone who wants to take their game further

Sundays - 12:20-15:00 - Female session - Part of our attempts to increase opportunities for female participation in our sport

We also have 7 teams for both male and female players, which compete in the local Norfolk league and the National University wide BUCS league.

Be sure to follow us on social media (search “UEA Squash” on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook) and join our Facebook Group “UEA Squash Club 2022-2023” where we post regular updates on upcoming sessions, socials and trials.

If you have any questions, or would like to get in contact then please feel free to email any of our committee members:

President: Max Chilver (

Vice President/Treasurer: Louisa Pagel ( 

Secretary: Harry Holliday (

Health and Safety Officer: Logan Caffell (

Social Secretaries: George Hennessey ( & Jack Spurgeon (

Publicity Secretary:Toby Biggs (

Union Officer/Equality and Diversity Officer: Andrew Nairn (

First Year Representative:


Additional Cost of Sport Ranges

The additional cost of sport project, which was created by the Students’ Union, alongside uea+sport, is designed to give prospective members information on the range of costs they may face in joining their chosen sport.

This range should be taken as guidance. For compulsory costs, this price includes uea+sport membership which is £55, and you only need to pay once to join all of our clubs.

When considering additional costs, some clubs may have none and others may have further costs. This is often dependent on the level of competitiveness for the sport you get involved in, and so recreational or socially playing may be cheaper. You may also have equipment which can be used between multiple sports, for example shoes or gum shields.

For any questions, please ask the sport club for specific further information, or for further information on the project.

Many thanks,

Luke Johnson

Your Activities & Opportunities Officer 23/24